Chat - Nudge

What is Chat?

  • Chat is where you and your team can communicate and collaborate in real-time. There are two types of Chats you may see: Team Chats and Direct Chats.
  • Team Chats are automatically created by your company and are based on your location, role, or team. Employees are automatically added and removed from these Team Chats based on employee information.
  • Direct Chats are created by yourself and/or other employees. Direct Chats include both one-on-one chats as well as any personal group chats. Unlike the Team Chats, you can add employees to or leave a Direct Group Chat at any point.

Start a Direct Chat

To create a Direct Chat:

  1. Click on the compose button (it looks like a pencil and notepad!) in the top right corner of the screen
  2. Use the search bar to find the coworker(s) that you want to start a chat with.
  3. Click on the names of the employees you want to add to the chat
  4. Update the name of the chat
  5. Click Start Chat
  6. Send your first message

Edit or Delete a message I sent

What does the user experience look like?

  • Long-press on a message or image that you sent in chat and see the Delete option appear
  • Confirmation dialog will appear asking you to confirm if you want to delete the message as the action is irreversible
  • When a message is deleted, “This message has been deleted” appears in the chat app
  • The message “This message has been deleted” will appear in your device language setting.

Add people to a Direct Group Chat

To add an employee to a Direct Group Chat:

  1. Click into the Direct Group Chat you wish to add the employee too
  2. Click the ellipse icon in the top right corner of the chat
  3. Click Add Participants
  4. Search for and select the employee(s) you want to add
  5. Click Save

NOTES:

  • A message will be shown in the Chat to let the other members know new employees were added
  • You cannot add employees to Team Chats. Membership to Team Chats is based on employee information

Leave a Direct Group Chat

To leave a Direct Group Chat:

  1. Click into the Direct Group Chat you wish to leave
  2. Click the ellipse icon in the top right corner of the chat
  3. Click Leave Chat

NOTES:

  • A message will be shown in the Chat to let the other members know you have left the chat
  • You cannot leave Team Chats. Membership to Team Chats is based on employee information

Edit the name of a Direct Group Chat

To edit the name of a Direct Group Chat:

  1. Click into the Direct Group Chat you wish to rename
  2. Click the ellipse icon in the top right corner of the chat
  3. Click Edit Chat Name
  4. Type in the new chat name and click Save

NOTE: You cannot edit the name of a Team Chat.

How do I see who is in a group chat?

To see who is in a Team Chat or Direct Chat:

  1. Click into the Team Chat or Direct Group Chat
  2. Click the ellipse icon in the top right corner of the chat
  3. Click View Participants
  4. When done click the back arrow in the top left corner to return to the chat

How do I change my notifications settings for Chat?

To Update the notifications that you receive for Chat:

  1. Click into the More tab
  2. Click into Settings
  3. In the Push notifications section turn off the related notifications you no longer want to receive:
  • Team Chat Messages - You will no longer get a notification when there is a new message in any of your Team Chats

  • Group Direct Chat Messages - You will no longer get a notification when there is a new message in any of your Direct Group Chats

  • One-on-one Direct Chat Messages - You will no longer get a notification when there is a new message in any of your one-on one Direct Chats

What are Chat Reactions?

Chat Reactions are a series of emojis users can use to react to any chat message. Frontline teams can quickly acknowledge and provide feedback to messages in an easily measurable way, without the need to respond with additional messages.

How do users choose an emoji?

Users can long-press on any message or image in Chat to see emojis appear. They can then pick the emoji they would like to use from the following options:

  • Smile 😀
  • Sad 😔
  • Laugh 😂
  • Acknowledge/Okay ✅
  • Celebrate  🎉

Users can also tap on an emoji that was selected by someone else and react with the same emoji.

Is this functionality available for all types of Chats?

Yes. Team Chats, Custom Group Chats, and 1:1 Chats all have the ability to react with emojis.

How can users unselect an emoji?

Users can tap on the emoji they have previously used to un-react. Users can also long press on a message and see the list of emojis appear, and tap on the one they previously used to un-react.

How many emojis can be selected?

Users can react using a single emoji, or as many as they would like.

Will the users be able to see who has reacted using which emoji?

Users can tap on an emoji and that will display a sheet with the list of individuals who have reacted with that emoji. If the message has additional emojis, users will be able to swipe through them to see the users who reacted with those emojis.

How can users unselect an emoji?

Users can tap on the emoji they have previously used to un-react. Users can also long press on a message and see the list of emojis appear, and tap on the one they previously used to un-react.

Will the user be able to see how many people reacted with the same emoji?

Yes, the users will see a counter displayed beside each emoji to see how many other users have reacted using the same emoji.

What can chat reactions be used for?

Chat reactions are a great way to quickly provide contextual feedback to a message. In many cases, reactions reduce the need for additional chat messages in response.

Here are some examples where chat reactions may be used:

  • Acknowledgements (using ✅)
    • Confirm the message was read
    • Confirm an action in the message was performed
    • Confirm awareness of a topic referenced in the message
  • Conduct a poll
    • Binary polls using 😀 (yes, positive) or 😔 (no, negative)
    • Polls using up to five emojis (remember to explain what each emoji represents)
  • Collect feedback on:
    • Past events
    • New product launches
    • Team updates
  • Celebrate team achievements (using 🎉)

Delete a chat

What is the user experience?

  •  Users can long-press on a message or image that they sent in chat and see the Delete option appear
  • Users will be asked to confirm if they want to delete the message as the action is irreversible
  • When a message is deleted, the user will see “This message has been deleted” appear in the chat app
  • The message “This message has been deleted” will appear in the user’s device language setting. 

Report a message

What is the user experience?

  • Users can long-press on a message or image in a Chat and see the Report Message button appear. 
  • Users will then be asked to provide some context about why they’re reporting a message in an open-text field box.  
  • There will be no visual indicator that a message has been reported.  

What is required to turn on the feature? 

  • Companies are required to provide at least 1 email address where the reported messages will be sent. In the CMS, navigate to Settings > Content > Locate the Report a Message section under the Refer to Company section. 
  • Organizations can designate up to 5 email addresses where they would like to receive reported messages.

What information is included when a message is reported?

  • The following information is included in the email when a message is reported:
    • Reported message contents 
      • Content of the text message that was reported (Please note that the rest of the Chat conversation is not included, only the reported message is included)
      • Link to the image if an image is reported 
    • User ID of user who wrote the message, which links to the user’s profile in the CMS
    • User ID of user who reported the message, which links to the user’s profile in the CMS
    • Date and time of message
    • Type of Chat the message was part of
    • Additional comments submitted by the user who reported the message

Additional details

  • The feature will not be turned on automatically. 
  • Team Chats, Custom Group Chats and 1:1 Chats all have reporting functionality. 

If you don't find the answer you are looking for please reach out to your Manager or Program Manager for further assistance.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.